Calendar of Events

Spring 2011

Lecture Series

  • Thursday, April 28, 2011:  “The Readers Speak:  A Hostos Panel Discussion”

    Professor Robert F. Cohen, Director of the Book-of-the-Semester Project, will lead two panel discussions.  Participants will have the opportunity to voice their opinions about different issues surfacing in their discussions of Tatiana de Rosnay’s novel.

    Savoy Multipurpose Room
    11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
    5:45 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

  • Wednesday, May 4, 2011:  “Voices from the Holocaust:  How Places and Houses Keep Memories and How the Walls Can Talk”

    Presenters: 
    Patricia Frenz-Belkin, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of ESL
    Language and Cognition Department 
    Bella Pace, M.D.
    Pediatrician, Open Door Family Medical Centers
    Daughter of WW2 Holocaust Survivors


    The presenters will tell true Holocaust stories that will take us from the sidewalks of Paris to the sidewalks of Berlin and help us consider what it means to be “human."

    Savoy Multipurpose Room
    11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
    5:45 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

    Film Series
    While reading the novel, readers will have the opportunity to view films with Holocaust themes.  The films can be seen in the Audiovisual Room (A-309) according to this schedule:

    Films

    5:30p.m.–8:00 p.m.

    3:15 p.m.–5:30 p.m.

    3:15 p.m.–5:30 p.m.

    The Diary of Anne Frank

    Tuesday, March 29

    Wednesday,March 30

    Thursday, March 31

    The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

    Tuesday, April 5

    Wednesday, April 6

    Thursday, April 7

    Au Revoir les Enfants

    Tuesday, April 12

    Wednesday, April 13

    Thursday, April 14

    Faculty, please note:  There is a duplicate copy for each film.  If you wish to show any of these films during class hours, you can make arrangements to do so with Mr. Julio Figueroa (ext. 4225).