» HCC » OAA Home Page
OAA Mission

OAA Committees

    OAA Division-Wide Committees

    • Assessment Committee
    • Center for Teaching and Learning Advisory Council

      This cross-divisional faculty-driven committee and guided by the Faculty Development and
      Curriculum Committee concentrates on meeting the professional needs of faculty from across the
      disciplines.  A priority of this committee is to encourage faculty to rethink and put into practice
      innovative pedagogical methods that answer the basic and advanced needs of students to increase
      overall retention and graduation rates.  The Council models innovation through unconventional
      programming intended to inspire faculty to consistantly recreate curriculum to enhance the
      learning environment throughout the course of the student’s academic careers.  The Council
      exists to refresh and invigorate all faculty including adjuncts, and push them to excel

      Click here for more information.

      Administrative Director
      Faculty Development and Curriculum        
      Acting Associate Dean
      Dean Amanda Bernal-Carlo, B447
      Faculty Chair
      Education Department
      América Trinidad
      Fac. Dvlpmt & Curriculum
      Asst. Dir. CTL
      Sarah Brennan
      Fac. Dvlpmt & Curriculum Karla Contreras
      Business Sandy Figueroa
      Education Carol Huie / Sarah Church
      English Cynthia Jones
      Humanities Angel Morales
      Language & Cognition Paula Korsko
      Library Jennifer Tang
      Math Olen Dias
      Natural Science Yoel Rodriguez
    • CW Curriculum Committee
    • Educational Technology Leadership Counsil
    • General Education Committee

      The General Education and Assessment Committee is driven by cross-disciplinary faculty and administrators whose interest is to infuse the curriculum with learning experiences that are focused on skill and knowledge building that are centrally focused on the Gen Ed core competencies which span the disciplines.  The Committee promotes inclusion of the Principles of Excellence adopted by the faculty from the American Association of Colleges and Universities (AAC&U).  The committee also encourages classroom assessment of student skill development, and provides guiding principles that lead faculty to develop an innovative curriculum that is rich with diverse academic learning experiences that strengthen basic and advanced-level skills and foundations of knowledge.

      Click here for more information.

      Director, CTL
      Faculty Development and Curriculum        
      Acting Associate Dean
      Amanda Bernal-Carlo
      B447 / OAA / 718-518-6639
      Co-chair, Education América Trinidad
      C490c / Education / 718-518-6739
      Allied Health Sciences Elvir Dincer
      Business Sandy Figueroa
      English Maria Bennett
      Faculty Development & Curriculum, CTL         Sarah Brennan
      Faculty Development & Curriculum Karla Contreras
      Language and Cognition Patricia Frenz-Belkin
      Office of Institutional Research Richard Gampert
      Nat.Sci. Francisco Fernández
      Hum María Miranda
      Math Bronislaw Czarnocha
    • Global Academic Program Committee
    • Honors Committee

      The Honors Committee was reorganized in the summer of 2009, and administers the Global Scholars program, the Hostos Scholars program, and the college’s honors programs in the Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts in Science, Engineering, Dental Hygiene, Business Management, Business, and Accounting programs. Committee members are responsible for mentoring, advising, and monitoring the progress of Honors Students, planning, organizing, and attending all Honors colloquia, events and functions, and planning winter and summer institutes and study abroad programs. The Honors Committee is chaired by the Director of Honors, and its membership consists of members of the faculty and staff. The committee liaises with the Coordinator of the Global Scholars program.

      Chairperson Carl James Grindley
      B442 / English / 718-319-7907
      English Craig Bernardini
      Behavioral and Social Sciences           Marcella Bencivenni
      Behavioral and Social Sciences Felix Cardona
      Humanities Orlando Hernandez
      English Cynthia Jones
      Education Juan Preciado
      Transfer Services Lillian Acosta
      Coordinator of Global Scholars Irene Garcia-Mathes
    • ILC Advisory Council

      The committee's mandate is to establish, communicate, and monitor college-wide information technology standards, priorities and policies.  The committee works to identify and assess college-wide technology needs, and assist with strategic planning while representing the interests of faculty, staff, students, and the rest of the college community equally.  The committee ensures that college-wide decisions recognize university-wide policy and practices.

      Co-Chair Isabel Li,
      C596d / HALC / 718-319-7926
      Co-Chair           Varun Sehgal
      B429 / OIT / 718-518-6641
      OIT Carl Grindley,
      ACC Marisa Rodriquez,
      Library Kate Lyons,
      OIR Richard Gampert,
      SDEM Rebecca Hoda,
      OIT Carlos Guevera,
      OIT Iber Poma,
      IT Felix Gallindo,
      IT Heba Elsayed,
|Decrease Font|Default Font|Increase Font|