Text Version
Hostos Community College logo
2011-2016 Strategic Plan

Hostos Webmail

Hostos Directory

Technology Updates

Schedule of Classes
Fall 2010 Info

Need more info on Registration? Click Here.
Looking for the Summer'10 Schedule of Classes? Click Here.

   

ONLINE COURSES FALL 2010

The online courses offered at Hostos Community College are designed for students who are interested in registering for courses that provide an active and effective learning environment as well as the flexibility of participating either entirely or partially outside the traditional classroom by way of the Internet, online.

Fully Online or Asynchronous Courses:

In these courses at least 80% of the class activities will take place online. Students participate in the class, via the Internet, from anywhere and at their own time. Students will be expected to complete assignments at a computer and participate in online discussions.

Courses with an Online Component or Hybrid Courses:

In these courses at least 50% of the class activities will take place online. Students participate in the class, via the Internet, from anywhere and at their own time. Students will be expected to complete assignments at a computer and participate in online discussions.

Web-Enhanced Courses:

In these courses the instruction is conducted in the traditional face-to-face mode with an added web component to enhance the students learning experience.

Students Interested in these Courses will Need:

Students interested in these courses will need:

  • Access to the Internet at home, at the college, at work, or at a local library.
  • Some familiarity navigating the Internet.
  • An active e-mail address.
  • The willingness to participate in online discussion.
  • The motivation to work independently.

Students Interested in an Online Course Should:

  1. Visit http://www.hostos.cuny.edu/oaa/onlinelearning.htm to find out more about student responsibilities when taking online courses.
  2. Send an e-mail message to the instructor of the class informing him/her of their interest in registering for his/her online class.
  3. Visit the Hostos Blackboard Tutorial website at: http://www.hostos.cuny.edu/oaa/BBtutorial to learn how to access the online classes and to become familiar with the Blackboard environment.
  4. Consider attending any of the workshops that are designed to facilitate access to online classes and familiarize students with the Blackboard environment. These workshops will begin two weeks before classes start. The workshop schedule is posted at: http://www.hostos.cuny.edu/oaa/studentsworkshops.asp

NOTE:

  • Students who are already registered in the CUNY Portal, and know their username and password, may log-in directly to Blackboard using: https://blackboard-doorway.cuny.edu/Doorway
  • Students who are already registered in the CUNY Portal, and DO NOT know their username or password, should get in touch with the HELP DESK - Room C595, 718-518-6622
  • Students who have never registered in the CUNY Portal, must do so by visiting http://www.cuny.edu (Visiting the Hostos Blackboard Tutorial website first is highly recommended.)
Asynchronous Sections

COURSE

CODE

SECTION

COURSE DESCRIPTION

INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION

BUS 100

1107

000ON

Introduction To Business

Prof. Hector Lopez
hlopez@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 101

0927

000WI

Foundation of Education

Prof. Christine Mangino
cmangino@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 101

0928

000ON

Foundation of Education

Prof. Linda Kramer lkramer@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 104

0935

000WI

Language Arts for Young Children

Prof. Linda Church
lchurch@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 111

0943

000ON

Science & Math

Staff

EDU 113

0944

000ON

Field Experience

Prof. Carlos Acevedo
cacevedo@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 130

0950

000ON

Teaching in Multicultural/Multilingual

Prof. Di Santo cgrindley@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 132

0953

000ON

Social Studies

Prof. Carlos Acevedo cacevedo@hostos.cuny.edu

EDU 150

0956

000ON

Introduction to Special Education

Staff

HLT 111

0902

000ON

Health & the Young Child

Prof. Juan Preciado jpreciado@hostos.cuny.edu

MAT 130

0889

000WI

Computer Literacy

Prof. Sandra Figueroa sfigueroa@hostos.cuny.edu

NUR 200

1175

000ON

Transition in Nursing

Prof. Hamide Laucer hlaucer@hostos.cuny.edu

SOC 101

1018

000ON

Introduction to Sociology

Prof. Felipe Pimentel fpimentel@hostos.cuny.edu

SOC 140

1030

000ON

Sociology of Race and Ethnicity

Prof. Felipe Pimentel fpimentel@hostos.cuny.edu

 
Hybrid Sections

COURSE

CODE

SECTION

COURSE DESCRIPTION

INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION

BIO 110

1046

732HY

Principles of Biology

Prof. George Rosa
grosa@hostos.cuny.edu

CIP 101

1122

215HY

Introduction to Information Systems

Prof. George Cheng
gcheng@hostos.cuny.edu

CIP 101

1123

200HY

Introduction to Information Systems

Prof. Carol Huie
chuie@hostos.cuny.edu

CIP 101

1124

715HY

Introduction to Information Systems

Prof. Carol Huie
chuie@hostos.cuny.edu

DEN 210

1179

102HY

Oral Pathology

Prof. Mary Errico
merrico@hostos.cuny.edu

DEN 210

1180

200HY

Oral Pathology

Prof. Mary Errico
merrico@hostos.cuny.edu

HLT 103

0899

515HY

Interpersonal Relations

Prof. Juan Preciado
jpreciado@hostos.cuny.edu

HLT 215

0908

415HY

Nutrition

Prof. Iris Mercado
imercado@hostos.cuny.edu

SSD 100

1272

402HY

College Orientation

Prof. Lizette Colon lcolon@hostos.cuny.edu

SSD 100

1266

202HY

College Orientation

Prof. Sonia Maldonado smaldonado@hostos.cuny.edu

SSD 100

1267

302HY

College Orientation

Prof. Lizette Colon lcolon@hostos.cuny.edu



Caiman Country!!
Eugenio Marķa de Hostos Community College  ·  500 Grand Concourse, Bronx, New York 10451  ·  Phone (718) 518-4444
Mission Statement | Web Site Privacy Policy | Non Discrimination Policy | Feedback | Site Map
The City University of New York