Hostos Engineering Students Recognized at
Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students
Four Hostos engineering students attended the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS 2020), held from November 9-13, 2020. Two of the three posters created by Hostos students were recognized for outstanding presentation. 
Alpha Bah and Francisco Javier Gómez Pérez were recognized for “Structure-based characterization of TRPM8 modulators using computer-aided molecular design.” Dr. Rodríguez served as mentor for Bah and Pérez.
The second award went to Christina González, Scarlet Martínez Cardoze, Luis Barrera, and Chante Guy for “Green tea catechins can potentially regulate miR-125b-5p in breast cancer cells.” The team was mentored by Dr. Lissette Delgado-Cruzata of John Jay College and Dr. Rodríguez. Ms. Cardoze is a student at Hostos; the rest of her team attend John Jay.
Scarlet Martínez Cardoze and Onyinyechi Winner Obineche presented the third Hostos poster titled, “Structure-based virtual screening to identify small-molecule modulators of KChIP2 for cardiovascular diseases,” Cardoze and Obineche’s poster was mentored by Dr. Rodríguez.
Another Hostos Mathematics Major, Reynaldo Martínez, currently at Lehman College, also presented another research poster titled, “Molecular mechanism of Trf2 - telomeric DNA interaction in Ustilago maydis” mentored by Dr. Olga Steinberg.
“To the best of our knowledge,” Dr. Rodríguez stated, “this is the second time that Hostos students have been recognized for outstanding presentations in ABRCMS.” Leslie Vázquez (mentored by Dr. Olga Steinberg) and Wendy Fernández (mentored by Dr. Rodríguez) were recognized for their work at the 2015 conference.
The ABRCMS Conference is one of the largest communities of underrepresented minorities in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
Three of the Hostos students are participants in the NSF Hostos Engineering Academic Talent Scholarship (HEAT) Program and are former 2019 -2020 NSF Louise Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) fellows. The other student, Francisco Javier Gómez Pérez, is a former 2019 – 2020 CUNY Research Scholars Program (CRSP).
Congratulations to our ingenious students!