Eugenio María de Hostos Community College commemorated Hispanic Heritage Month with a salute to distinguished Latino leaders and student scholars.

On Thursday, October 10, the College proudly honored Dr. Juan Tapia Mendoza, Founder and President of Pediatrics 2000; the Honorable Connie Morales, Bronx Civil Court Judge; Hope M. Field, Senior Manager of Coca Cola Latin Affairs; Cira Ángeles, Entrepreneur and Hostos Foundation Board Member Emerita; Dr. Guillermo Linares, President of Higher Education Services Corporation; and Zulema Wiscovitch, Executive Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer of Associated Supermarket Group.

Associate Dean of Community Relations Ana García Reyes delivered the evening’s welcoming remarks, and Ana Martínez, Vice President of the Division of Institutional Advancement, greeted all of those in attendance. 
The guests of honor were also recognized by New York State Assemblywoman Karines Reyes and New York State Assemblyman and Bronx Delegation Chair, Marcos A. Crespo, who presented them with proclamations. The New York State Assembly, in commemoration of Hispanic Heritage Month, also gave a proclamation to the College. 

Additionally, Hostos professor Thelma Ithier Sterling, of the humanities department, received the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. The talented soprano treated guests to a superb musical performance, accompanied by pianist Gilberto Pérez Lavastida. 

Topping off the evening, Fabian Wander, Director of Hostos’ Health and Wellness Center, and Mayi Libfeld, Hostos Scholarship Coordinator, presented1199SEIU scholarship awards to 10 Allied Health students: Gileene Mullings, Haiyue Cui, Isabel Neira Sánchez, Juana Florentino Guridis, Kady Barno, Kirian Reyes, Lliamel Desángeles López, Mary Jade Mercede, Yessica Lloyd, and Rosaida Hodge. 
The scholarships were made possible thanks to 1199SEIU Vice President Victor Rivera, to whom the College is very grateful for his generosity. During his remarks, Rivera congratulated the student scholars and shared how pleased he was to represent 1199SEIU at the ceremony. 

The 2019 Distinguished Latino Leaders and Student Scholars award ceremony was coordinated by the Division for Institutional Advancement’s Office of the Associate Dean for Community Relations. 
Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees and scholarship recipients!