2020/2021 COMMITTEE REPORT

NAME OF COMMITTEE

Senate Scholarship and Awards Committee

CHAIR OF COMMITTEE

Dr. Damaris-Lois Yamoah Lang

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Vice-Chair

Dr. Maria Subert, Humanities

Secretary

Prof. Ronette Shaw, Allied Health Sciences

Recording Secretary

Dr. Ann Genzale, English

Dr. Yoel Rodriguez, Natural Sciences

Dr. Humberto Ballesteros, Humanities

Dr. Helen Chang, Behavioral and Social Sciences

Dr. Asrat Amnie, Education

Theresa Hammonds, Transfer Services, HEO

Rocio Rayo, OAA, HEO

Mohammed Nashir, SGA

Amdiya Kyemtore, SGA

DATES COMMITTEE MET

Fall 2020 meeting dates:	Spring 2021 meeting dates:
October 13, 27	February 5, 19
November 24	March 5, 19
December 8	April 16, 30
	May 14th

ACTIONS TAKEN (PLEASE BE SPECIFIC)

- 1. PowerPoint Presentation of SSAC at the Chairs, Coordinators and Directors meeting 03/22/2021
- 2. Continued evaluation of the established Presidents List, Deans List, and GAEF awards.
- 3.Established departmental liaisons to promote faculty and student awareness of available Scholarships and Awards.
- 4. Collecting names and descriptions of all Departmental Awards, award recipients, and their pictures
- 5. Supporting the production of the Honors Convocation Virtual Award.
- 6. Visibility efforts continued to promote awareness of committee efforts centered around honoring the students' academic achievements.
- 7. Advocating for continued funds for GAEF Awards to support students from academic departments

HAVE STUDENTS BEEN REGULAR, PARTICIPATING MEMBERS OF YOUR COMMITTEE?

No. Students have not been in attendance

Attach any additional information or concerns you may have to this form and send it by May 17, 2021 to:

Professor Tram Nguyen, Chair of Committee on Committees, as well as Professor Ernest Ialongo, Chair of Hostos College Senate.

E-mail addresses:

trnguyen@hostos.cuny.edu eialongo@hostos.cuny.edu