Welcome to HALC Website.
In order to obtain full access to HALC web services, please:


Welcome to The Hostos Academic Learning Center (HALC).
The Hostos Academic Learning Center (HALC), located in C-596, is a complete learning environment that allows students to receive the academic help they need in a setting that is rich in resources and supports academic success. Throughout the academic year, the HALC programs activities that focus on the skills development of students, including tutorial support and self-guided tutorials

Tutorial services are available at the HALC in most introductory courses offered at Hostos. Tutors work with students either one-on-one or in small groups to provide general course review and pre-exam preparation.

For more information, please visit us in C-596 or call (718) 518-6624
Spring 2014 Tutoring Schedule
Tentative Fall 2014 Schedule of Tutoring and Activities

For the fall 2014, tutoring begins September 8 and ends December 18, 2014.

Tutoring runs Monday through Thursday, from 10am to 8pm with the exception of Mathematics, which runs until 9pm and Saturday and Sunday, from 10am to 3pm.

Tutoring is available on a walk-in basis, so there is no need to make an appointment.

Note that the center is closed when classes are not scheduled and when the college is closed.

To make the most of your tutoring session this spring, see the schedule below:

  • Thursday, August 28 (Classes begin)
  • Monday, September 1 (College is closed)
  • Tuesday, September 23 (Classes follow a Friday schedule)
  • Wednesday, September 24 – Friday, September 26 (No Classes scheduled)
  • Saturday, September 27 - Sunday, September 28 (No Tutoring scheduled)
  • Friday, October 3 – Saturday, October 4 (No Classes scheduled)
  • Sunday, October 5 (No Tutoring scheduled)
  • Sunday, October 12 (No Classes scheduled)
  • Monday, October 13 (College is closed)
  • Thursday, November 27- Sunday, November 30(College is closed)
  • Monday, December 15 (Last day of Classes
  • Thursday, December 18 (Last day of tutoring)

  • Workshops
    For more information click here.
    HALC CALENDAR 2014
    For upcoming events/activities at HALC, see our calendar.

    • Opening/Closing Dates.
    • Basic Skills Workshops.
    STUDENT REWARD POINTS PROGRAM
    Start Earning Points for Prizes with The Hostos Student Reward Points Program! For more information click here.
    Room Allocations...